Capsule Wardrobe

Wardrobe Architect – Week 1

img_2917The Wardrobe Architect from Colette is a huge feat.  It’s 14 weeks of discovering your true style and I will admit, I’m definitely intimidated.  In the past couple of months there have been a lot of renovations going on at our place which has forced me to move my clothes and shoes several times.  That makes you realize how much stuff you don’t actually wear or need.  In the attempt to be the architect of my style as well as a climber trying to conquer the wardrobe mountain here is week 1.

I added this fun picture of my cat, Howard.  He is currently in the midst of conquering my wardrobe mountain. 😉

Wardrobe Architect – Week 1:

This week’s focus – Thinking about how we are different and how that affects our aesthetic choices.

History – How has your personal history informed the way you dress?  When did your tastes crystalize?  Have they changed over the years, and why?

Answer: My mother always emphasized that it is important to buy quality clothing.  She taught my sisters and I how to spot high-end fabric and craftsmanship.  She was always willing to spend a little more for a lasting piece.

I’m not sure if my style has crystallized.  I would say I am attracted to neutrals, modern shapes and subtle trends.  I like to look polished and classy but not stuffy.  I want to have a slight edge- something that pops and is exclusively me.  That comes from my former Betsey Johnson/Grunge phase in high school.  I don’t like pops of color as much now as I do a pattern or fabric pop.  I do like things to be wearable in several settings.  This change came from just growing up and wanted to be sophisticated and well put together.

Philosophy – How does your philosophy, spirituality, or religion affect your aesthetics and buying habits?  Or, what aspects of those things would you like to see reflected?

Answer: I don’t like having “things” and I do not get a high from shopping.  I’m very particular in my purchases.  I see something I like and I wait to see if I still like it.  If I do, I may buy it.  If not, I forget about it.  I want that reflected as a minimalist style but not a “simple” style.  I want minimalist pieces that are high quality and high craftsmanship.

Culture – How has your cultural background shaped the way you look?  How did the aesthetics and values you grew up with affect your tastes as you got older?

Answer:  My background shaped the way I look today to not be sold on trends and to highlight what suits my body.  I must wear the clothes, not let them wear me.

Community – How are you influenced by the people around you, including friends, family, and other communities you’re involved in?

Answer: The influence really comes from everyone buying cheap clothing.  It’s so easy and they are so cute.  But then you just buy without thinking about it because the price is so great.  Then there is Pinterest…all the pretty things on Pinterest.  Honestly, its great and has helped me define my style.

Activities – How do your day to day activities influence your choices? / Location – Does the place you live inform the way you dress?  How does climate factor in?

Answer: Even though I live in Southern California I am always cold.  I’m on my way to work before 7AM and it’s chilly.  I take public transit and it’s chilly.  I get to the office and it’s chilly.  I try to keep myself covered up so cold air doesn’t get through by wearing long pants, boots and socks and layers.  During my lunch break, I run errands and often end up too hot so layers are essential.  Staying warm is a big factor in my everyday clothing decisions to the point that it makes my wardrobe boring sometimes.

Body – In what ways does body image affect your choices in clothing?  What clothes make you feel good about the body you live in?  What clothes make you feel uncomfortable or alienated from your body?

Answer: Clothes that make me feel good about my body are those that are tailored to me.  I don’t like ill-fitting clothes or pieces that are too suggestive.  Body image affects my choices in that I don’t want to give people the impression that they should look at certain aspects of my body.  I also do not want my clothes to distort my size or be messy.

On to the next worksheet… 🙂

Leave a Reply

