BBG · Fitness

Fitness and Food Update – BBG Week 9

It’s been a whole 4 weeks since my last BBG post and I’m happy to say I haven’t missed a day.  I’m not sure if I look that much stronger but I do feel stronger.  Week 8 was great because I was able to get through my exercises with more ease but now that I am in Week 9 I’m back to being beaten down at the end of my workouts.  I definitely have not lost the will to keep going though so at least I have that.

Since my last fitness post I have been really working on eating as clean as possible.  I do have a cheat meal or two over the weekends and sometimes I like to indulge in a little bit of ice cream which is kind of funny because I’m not really that into ice cream.  I guess you can say it’s my craving of the moment.

I also downloaded the MyFitnessPal app so I can watch my nutrients.  It has been super helpful and motivating to get me to eat the right amount of healthy food to reach my fitness goals but also is an eye opener on how indulgences can really throw your health off if you have too many.

Here are just a few of the food changes that I have made:

I am making a huge effort to wake up early enough to make breakfast.  My go to meals are either whole grain toast topped with sautéed spinach and a sunny side up egg OR dairy-free overnight oats with chia seeds and some fruit.  I like to have a glass of water with a splash of lemonade with this as well.

img_3344

I’m thinking about experimenting with some morning smoothies as well in order to get more calories in early.  We shall see!

Otherwise, I have removed all yogurt from my lunches and make a sweet potato and coconut milk pudding that I used to make in the past and loved.  I have also removed all red meat from my diet and will save that for big events.

img_3260

My next step is to cut out sandwiches for lunch and eat a lean meat and vegetables instead.

I have been doing a pretty good job of eating more vegetables than starches or meat during dinner and I intend to keep that up.

img_3437

Still a work in progress but I am getting there!

Leave a Reply

