Fitness

Fitness Progression & Strawberry Almond Smoothie Recipe

The last 6 weeks I have been using the Tammie Hembrow Program and let me tell you it is tough.  I was so unbelievably sore the first week.  I stuck to it and slowly started adding more weight each week as I got stronger.

Tammie’s program is a 3 day a week for 8-weeks program focusing on your bum.  This may sound silly but this area is very important to me and I feel it is often neglected in most workout programs.  The reason why I am pursuing it is for several reasons.  First, I want to work out every part of my body equally.  I don’t just want a strong back and then weak legs, that doesn’t make sense to me.  Second, as you age your glute muscles get weaker and your bum flattens out so naturally I want to avoid that.  Third, I have sciatica and it stems from my piriformis muscle which is basically in your glute.  For whatever, reason whether it be stress, improperly lifting something or lack of exercise my piriformis will squeeze my sciatic nerve and cause pain and weakness in my right glute and leg.  The best way I have found to deal with this is consistently working out and de-stressing which I combat through daily meditation and of course my sewing hobby.  Fourth, workout programs have an ending, a goal, something to work towards.  I like that, I thrive on that.

In this program, you do need to use a gym.  I don’t have all the exact equipment in my gym but I make due.  This program focuses on the smith machine, leg press, arm pull down machine, barbell and free weights.

I also decided to use her arms and abs YouTube video 2 days a week.  That exercise probably lasts about 30 minutes.  It’s pretty simple but it burns. I do find myself plateauing a bit so I will be upping my weights pretty soon.

I’m just about done with week 7 and after this program I will be taking a vacation so when I get back I will start up a new program or repeat this one.  We shall see.

In the meantime, I’ve been pushing clean eating although it can be tough.  The days where I don’t follow it well I find that I am sorry not too shortly after eating as the bloating, nausea and headaches kick.  I’m still associating the “bad” foods with pleasure but soon enough I’ll have to condition myself to make more and more better choices.  I’m not aiming to do this perfectly but I am aiming to do it in the best way possible to fit my lifestyle.  It will always be a work in progress. 🙂 I am loving my morning routine of making a Strawberry Almond Smoothie.  I’ve changed this up to cater to my tastes.  It is very filling at about 200 calories and slightly sweet. (My recipe below.)

Finally, I’m also trying to eat more because the more you lift the more calories you need to turn into muscle.  In order to do this, cardio is no longer a part of my work out because it burns off too many calories.  However, I do take enough steps in the day to keep my cardiovascular system healthy.  Right now, the best way for me to do this is to add a protein shake to my daily calorie intake.  I’m only doing half a serving at the moment but soon enough I will need a full 310 calorie serving.  In time… 😉

Strawberry Almond Smoothie Recipe

1 cup almond milk

1 frozen banana

5 frozen strawberries

2 tablespoons flax seed

Blend!

Leave a Reply

